Mohammad Rizwan maintained his rich vein of batting form on Friday with an unbeaten 78 as Pakistan made 167-5 against Bangladesh in a tri-series Twenty20 match in Christchurch.

Pakistan beat new Zealand by 6 wickets

CHRISTCHURCH: Captain Babar Azam’s half-century inspired Pakistan to their second win in the Twenty20 international tri-series in Christchurch on Saturday, coasting past New Zealand by six wickets.

Azam rode his luck in reaching 79 off 53 balls as his team took command of the

Pakistan captain Babar Azam struck an unbeaten 79 from 53 balls and shared a 61-run partnership with Shadab Khan in a six-wicket win over New Zealand on Saturday in the Twenty20 tri-series.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson made the unusual decision to bat first after winning the toss and the Black Caps managed only 147-8 in their 20 overs, stalled by tight bowling from Haris Rauf and Mohammad Wasim.

The bowlers could do little to arrest Babar and Shadab as the ball became wet and slippery.

New Zealand was 70-1 after 10 overs with Devon Conway and Kane Williamson at the crease. Conway made 36 from 35 balls and Williamson 31 from 30 in an innings which promised a more robust total.

Mark Chapman produced a defiant innings for the home side with 32 from 16, including three fours and two sixes.

Babar reached his half century from 33 balls and was able to control Pakistan’s run chase, leading his team to victory with 10 balls remaining. He struck the ball with superb power and placement to tally 11 boundaries.

New Zealand

“Me and Shadab decided that I was going all the way and he would take the chances,” Babar said. “When we settled down and assessed the wicket I decided I was going to play to the end and managed to do that.”

Pakistan won the opening match of the tri-series by 21 runs over Bangladesh. New Zealand will play Bangladesh on Sunday.

Match Report

Match Stats

New Zealand – Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Finn Allen – 2.2 ov), 2-77 (Devon Conway – 10.6 ov), 3-88 (Kane Williamson – 12.6 ov), 4-130 (Glenn Phillips – 17.1 ov), 5-137 (Jimmy Neesham – 18.2 ov), 6-137 (Michael Bracewell – 18.3 ov), 7-142 (Mark Chapman – 18.6 ov), 8-144 (Ish Sodhi – 19.3 ov)

Pakistan – Fall of wickets: 1-36 (Mohammad Rizwan – 4.5 ov), 2-37 (Shan Masood – 5.2 ov), 3-98 (Shadab Khan – 12.2 ov), 4-124 (Mohammad Nawaz – 16.6 ov)

Playing XIs

New Zealand: Devon Conway (WK), Kane Williamson (C), Mark Chapman,

Pakistan: Mohammad Rizwan (WK) Babar Azam (C), Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Shan Masood, Shadab Khan, Mohamm

Match Details:

Date: SaturdayOctober 8, 2022 07:00

Venue: Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Toss: New Zealand won the toss & elected to bat

Officials: Umpires: Alex Wharf (England), Shaun Haig (New Zealand),Wayne Knights (New Zealand, TV)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *